History of RAW

May 1997

June 1997

December 1997

January 1999

April 2000

October 2000

November 2000

July 2001

Lake Grapevine Runners and Walkers founded by Richard Craft, who set up  a booth at Main Street Days to recruit members

First club run

RAW signed lease for clubhouse

First issue of the FOOTPRINT was created

Inaugural Bold in the Cold 5K & 15K

Inaugural Hound Dog Hustle 5K & 1-Mile Fun Run

Inaugural Double Trouble 5K & 10K

Inaugural Anti-Turkey Trot Fun Run

Best Foot Forward award, RAW's highest honor, was created

Tom Byno was the first recipient


The FOOTPRINT won RRCA national award for

Best Mid-sized Club Newsletter

September 2002

Inaugural Protectors of Freedom 5K

December 2002

3rd Annual Hound Dog Hustle race shirt wins

Runner's World Best T-Shirt contest

May 2006

Bart Yasso was keynote speaker at banquet

March 2007

Major (Ret) Rick Nealis, Marine Corps Marathon Race Director, is keynote speaker at banquet
“Cleveland Ray” spirit award created. First recipient is Tony “Flash” Flesch. Subsequent recipients are Kelly “K2” Richards, Marty Metzger and Evelyn Luccioni.